The Fault in Our StarsHarry PotterThe Hunger GamesPretty Little LiarsTwilight
YA Books for Middle Grade7th - 8th Grade
AdventureBiographyClassicsFantasyGraphic NovelsHistorical FictionHorror / Spooky booksMagical RealismMysteryParanormalPoetry / Novels in VerseRealistic FictionRomanceScience FictionSteampunk
Boys - great books for boysChildren's BooksLatin & Hispanic AmericanPasadena Teen PicksReaders' Advisory (general adult)TEEN BOOK FESTPPL Teen Top Ten
This is the "TEEN BOOK FEST" page of the "Teen Book Suggestions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teen Book Suggestions   Tags: teens, young adult  

Need help finding great books for teens? Don't know what to read next? Look here for help!
Last Updated: Nov 16, 2014 URL: http://cityofpasadena.libguides.com/teenbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

TEEN BOOK FEST Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library programs

 

YA Book Club picks

Join us for a book discussion!  Teens and adults welcome.

Need to read the book, but can't get a copy? Call (626) 744-4246 or email Jane Gov at jgov@cityofpasadena.net 

YA Book Club will return in the Summer!

Still Want More?

Try searching the library catalog:

      
     

    Pasadena Teen Book Fest 2014

    Pasadena Teen Book Festival

    April 26, 2014

    Below is a selected reading list for the featured authors.

    This program is being presented in partnership with Bridge to Books. See http://www.pasadenateenbookfestival.com for details.


    Cover Art
    High and Dry - Sarah Skilton
    Publication Date: 2014-04-15
    Coming soon

    Cover Art
    A Girl Called Fearless - Catherine Linka
    Coming soon

    Cover Art
    The Wig in the Window - Kristen Kittscher
    Call Number: J KITTSCHER,K
    When their game of neighborhood spying takes a dark turn one night, pre-teen sleuths Sophie Young and Grace Yang find themselves caught in a dangerious cat-and-mouse game with their bizarre guidance counselor, who may be hiding something sinister.

    Cover Art
    The Lost Planet - Rachel Searles
    Call Number: JRHI SEARLES,R
    Waking up on a distant planet, Chase Garrety is horrified to learn that he has no memory of his life and finds himself under the protection of a mysterious benefactor who requires him to complete an important mission before time runs out.

    Cover Art
    Counting By 7s - Holly Goldberg Sloan
    Call Number: JRHI SLOAN,H
    Twelve-year-old genius and outsider Willow Chance must figure out how to connect with other people and find a surrogate family for herself after her parents are killed in a car accident.

    Cover Art
    Warp Speed - Lisa Yee
    Call Number: JRHI YEE,L
    Marley Sandelski has always felt invisible at school when he is not facing bullies, but a series of unexpected events gives him a taste of popularity and insights into some classmates, well-liked or greatly-feared.

    Cover Art
    The Misadventures of the Magician's Dog - Frances Sackett
    Call Number: J SACKETT,F
    On his twelfth birthday, Peter chooses, or is chosen by, a strange, talking dog that teaches him magic in order that they might rescue a self-destructive wizard, aided by Peter's younger sisters, Celia and Izzy.

    Cover Art
    Rapture Practice - Aaron Hartzler
    Call Number: YA 92 HARTZLER,A
    Aaron Hartzler grew up in a home where he was taught that at any moment the Rapture could happen. That Jesus might come down in the twinkling of an eye and scoop Aaron and his family up to heaven. As a kid, Aaron was thrilled by the idea that every moment of every day might be his last one on planet Earth. But as Aaron turns sixteen, he finds himself more attached to his earthly life and curious about all the things his family forsakes for the Lord. He begins to realize he doesn't want the Rapture to happen just yet--not before he sees his first movie, stars in the school play, or has his first kiss.

    Cover Art
    Me and Earl and the Dying Girl - Jesse Andrews
    Call Number: YA FIC ANDREWS,J
    Seventeen-year-old Greg has managed to become part of every social group at his Pittsburgh high school without having any friends, but his life changes when his mother forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl he once knew in Hebrew school who has leukemia.

    Cover Art
    Belle Epoque - Elizabeth Ross
    Call Number: YA FIC ROSS,E
    Sixteen-year-old Maude Pichon, a plain, impoverished girl in Belle Epoque Paris, is hired by Countess Dubern to make her headstrong daughter, Isabelle, look more beautiful by comparison but soon Maude is enmeshed in a tangle of love, friendship, and deception.

    Cover Art
    Grasshopper Jungle - Andrew Smith
    Call Number: YA FIC SMITH,A
    Austin Szerba narrates the end of humanity as he and his best friend Robby accidentally unleash an army of giant, unstoppable bugs and uncover the secrets of a decades-old experiment gone terribly wrong.

    Cover Art
    Ink Is Thicker Than Water - Amy Spalding
    Call Number: YA FIC SPALDING,A
    For fans of Sarah Dessen or Stephanie Perkins's heartfelt and relatable teen novels, Amy Spalding's emotional and spot-on voice will hit at the heart and mind of teen readers everywhere.For Kellie Brooks, family has always been a tough word to define. Combine her hippie mom and tattooist stepdad, her adopted overachieving sister, her kid half brother, and her tough-love dad, and average Kellie's the one stuck in the middle, overlooked, impermanent.

    Cover Art
    Afterparty - Ann Redisch Stampler
    Call Number: YA FIC STAMPLER,A
    Tired of always being the good girl, Emma forms a friendship with fun and alluring Siobhan. But Siobhan's dangerous lifestyle becomes more than Emma can handle.

    Cover Art
    Circle of Silence - Carol M. Tanzman
    Call Number: YA FIC TANZMAN,C
    Valerie Gaines has a turn running the Campus News crew. A secret society has formed at her school and has been doing pranks. No one knows the society's members, agenda or initiation secets. But when a student lands in the hospital under strange circumstances, Valeries wants to break the story. Will she and her crew be successful or will she be a victim of the next crime?

    Cover Art
    Boy Nobody - Allen Zadoff
    Call Number: YA FIC ZADOFF,A
    Sixteen-year-old Boy Nobody, an assassin controlled by a shadowy government organization, The Program, considers sabotaging his latest mission because his target reminds him of the normal life he craves.

    Cover Art
    3:59 - Gretchen McNeil
    Call Number: YA SF MCNEIL,G
    Betrayed by the two persons she trusts the most, Josie jumps at the chance to trade places with her twin in a parallel universe until Josie becomes trapped in a dangerous world where shadowy creatures feed on human flesh.

    Cover Art
    Enders - Lissa Price
    Call Number: YA SF PRICE,L
    With the Prime Destinations body bank destroyed, Callie no longer has to rent herself out to creepy Enders. But Enders can still get inside her mind and make her do things she doesn't want to do. Like hurt someone she loves.

    Cover Art
    Icons - Margaret Stohl
    Call Number: YA SF STOHL,M
    After an alien force known as the Icon colonizes Earth, decimating humanity, four surviving teenagers must piece together the mysteries of their pasts--in order to save the future.

    Cover Art
    Reboot - Amy Tintera
    Call Number: YA SF TINTERA,A
    Seventeen-year-old Wren rises from the dead as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier until she is given an order she refuses to follow.

    Questions? Contact Us

    Profile Image
    Jane Gov
    Contact Info
    (626) 744-4246
    jgov@cityofpasadena.net

    Have a Question?

    Did We Miss Something?

    Click below to submit a link or other information you think would be useful on this page.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip